I Am Now Complete

One of the things that I’ve learned in my times and travels is that you should consider yourself a lucky person if you have a passion. Something that excites you whenever you think of it, vitalizes you when you partake in it, and drives you to succeed in all areas of your life. Some people never seem to find this something, though, and spend years of their lives trying to discover the fuel to light their inner fire.

Internet. Yesterday, I found that fuel. Yes, I attended the gas station of passion, and I got a free tank of plus gas-o-line. I’ve pumped my tank so full of it, I should be considered a walking, talking, mobile napalm.

That passion? That drive? That rejuvenating drink that sends me soaring higher than Red Bull laced with Aderol?

Girl’s. Junior. Softball.

Sitting in my folding chair, coffee in hand, 8th graders played their little 8th grade heart outs. And I became a man possessed. It was like the gates to the underworld opened wide to let loose a bevy of soccer mom spirits, whom, with their nalgenes and bumper stickers, filled my very soul with a hunger for orange slices and a thirst for blood.

As my friend, Carla, and I watched her little sister, Stephie, play her little heart out, I could feel the rage taking control of me. It started when little number 12 made her little double play by catching a fly and smacking the runner smack in the face with a softball glove packing some heat. Her ponytail almost came clean off. After that, it was all downhill.

During the mid-inning switch up, I heard a girl on Stephie’s team, NeatCo, tell her mother that, as she ran to first, the baseman punched her. PUNCHED HER. In her stomach. I slowly turned around, and said very calmly Which. One. The girl pointed out number 7 on the opposing team, The Holders.

Mmm Hmm. Alright. I see how this game is played. I’m gonna go key her parent’s car.

For the rest of the game, I used my loud voice. The one reserved only for concerts, emergency alerts, and bashing little teenage bitches who dare cross the line. Threats I employed included,

*Mommy divorced Daddy back in the last water break.
*Jake Gyllenhaal hates you, don’t kid yourself.
*I will slash your parent’s tires.
*Nice swing Tiger, too bad this ain’t golf.
*You throw like a girl.

Hungry for orange slices. Thirsty for blood.

I’ve never been more enthralled by something in my life. The adrenaline coursed through my veins, fueling my enthusiasm more than anything else I’ve ever felt. I imagined myself coaching the team. Morphing them from a bunch of girls to a pack of feral cats. Pigtails tied with the hair of the fallen. Nail polish applied with the blood of the defeated. They would be my 8th grade army of cleated terrors, and I?

I would be their Softball Master.

I don’t quite remember what happened after The Holders scored 3 runs against NeatCo, but I’m told it involved me saying I am taking command of the team and organizing 2 hour practices 2 times a week, asking Do the girls run laps? And what about weight training?, and finally something regarding sucker-punch-number-7 and finding out where she lives.

Being passionate is exhausting. And may wind up getting me a restraining order. But part of being driven is never say die.

Unless it’s to some little shit who sings We want a pitcher, not a belly itcher. You can say die to her.

6 Responses to “I Am Now Complete”

  1. nicole Says:

    Ahh, I remember those days. Kids are brutal, but parents are way worse. One of the most memorable events of my softball days was when I was about 6 or 7 and I tagged this girl out while playing third base. After the game, her father approached me and started yelling at me and telling me to watch my back because his daughter will beat me up. Then, my dad walked up and almost fought this psycho dad. Both mothers then approached the situation. My mom played the role of calming everyone down, while the other mom tried to pick a fight with my mom. All the while, my incredibly shy 7-year-old self just stared at the ground waiting for it to be over. I could have used you being there screaming horrible things in order to, if nothing else, get my family out of a fight and yours into one.

  2. leahpeah Says:

    you use your OUTSIDE voice?

    my kids all do some sport all year long, thanks to their dad. and there are SO many stupid, small-minded, hysterical parents out there. the parent’s are so much worse than the kids.

  3. Flubberwinkle Says:

    It’s really sad to watch has-been-athlete parents passing their sanguineous competitive nature on to their children.
    Softball Master. Has a nice vindictive ring to it.

  4. V-Grrrl Says:

    Little E-Grrrl plays softball. Great post.

  5. Steve Says:

    Die, #7.

    Die.

  6. Brenda Says:

    A long long time ago, in a small town on the edge of a middle size town, my oldest daughter was playing in a soccer match. The other team, including their parents, were swearing and the team was using side tackeling (dangerous and cardable in youth soccer). The referee was a young kid…hardly out of soccer himself. He couldn’t control the other team.

    Our coach pulled us parents aside and said…”I’m pulling the girls out if this gets worse.” We all agreed. Then, in a change of plans, he told the girls at half..”Win this game, and I’ll pay each of you.” motivation So, the girls went out there, won the game, and I mean WON the game… in good sportsman like fashion.. And then after the two teams had done the “nice game” hand slaps, along the mid-field line, our coach, lined the girls up… in the middle of the field.. pulled out his wallet…and paid each girl a dollar. Then as he came off the field.. he said..”Let’s find the farthest Dairy Queen from here.”

    Loved that coach.

Leave a comment