Day One: Success!

Wouldn’t you know, that my first day of work and Mother Nature decides to throw up all over the northeastern coastline.

Many places around me are flooded or having issues, but thankfully my neighborhood has remained dry. What’s funny to me, though, is how people in the city are reacting to the fact that a nor’easter has touched down. I never knew they were so out of the ordinary here in New York City. Back in Boston, a nor’easter would hit at the merest mention of a picnic.

Other than the extreme wetness of the situation, today was a great first day of work. I’m not going to say who I work for, because the last thing that needs to happen is for me to get dooced out of my first big boy job. I will tell you that I am working in advertising, specifically media planning, for a top company where I feel like the office atmosphere was created with me in mind.

Honestly, I’m very excited about this. If not only for the wonderful job, the fun people and the interesting work, but for the sheer fact that everyday I get to take the subway into Manhattan, whereupon I can view crazy people in their natural element.

And to be quite honest, that’s the only reason I moved to this city in the first place.

4 Responses to “Day One: Success!”

  1. aka Brandi Says:

    So FUN!

    Me and my Middle-Aged-Divorcee-Motherhoodness are so jealous. Have fun, you.

  2. Betty. Says:

    Yay!

    Jealous!

    Of the job that is, not the weather.

    Congrats!

  3. Joolie Says:

    My dad was a media planner until he retired about a year ago! I don’t know why I feel the need to tell you this. I just don’t know any other media planners. But I bet you know lots. This is a dumb comment. I’m going to end it now. Bye!

  4. Annie, The Evil Queen Says:

    If I can dork out more than usual a minute here, have you rerad The Tippping Point? I’m sure you have but I’m reading it right this moment and it is directly connected to what you do. Fascinating.

Leave a Reply

