This Made The Morning So Exciting

There was a fire today across the street from my office, around 53rd and 7th in Midtown. I’m not sure how it happened, but a cab just burst into flames. The funny part is that the first person on the scene was the security guard in my building. The one who pesters me for my ID even when I’ve been gone for a tiny 2 minute coffee run. He was out there in a flash.

Anyways, the cab’s tires exploded at some point, not to mention the fact that the poor woman who sells framed pictures of NYC street signs lost like, ALL her shit. No one, as far as I know, was in the cab, and none of the police officers or firemen were harmed. Here are some pictures I took.

fire3

fire2

fire4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

UPDATE: Here are a few pictures from my friend, Daniella. You can really see the effects of the fire here.
fire5

fire6

And here are some other pictures, after the fire.fire7

fire8

And a video from my co-worker, Andrew…

2 Responses to “This Made The Morning So Exciting”

  1. Sharilyn Neidhardt Says:

    VERY interested in republishing some of these photos. Please get in touch with me at the email address I’ve included, or at 212.930.8505

  2. Gillian Says:

    do you notice how the maison umbrella goes up??

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

